Picture of David Hicken next to a piano - presenting Momentum.
Return to The Bell Carol
The Bell Carol
PDF Sheet Music
$4.95
carols-01-the-bell-carol-pdf
(22 Reviews)
Click photo to enlarge
Your Review
You have not left a review for this product. Leave one now!
Product Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
O_O
I just can’t stop watching this thing. I’m learning piano and I just want to be like this guy!
— January 9, 2018 by Im not showing my name (I’m not showing city either)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Very Good
A very well made arrangement of Ukrainian Bell Carol.
— December 1, 2017 by Anonymous (California, US)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Love it!
I am amazed by this awesome piano piece. Last year I played it for my recitals and everybody enjoyed it!!!
David writes also the great performance notes, which are very helpful for pianists. THANKS!
— November 25, 2017 by Zdenka (Prague, Czech Republic)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
my future.
this guy is really, REALLY good!!!! I want to be like him!!! I'm playing carol of the bells for my recital, and this vid inspired that. I hope it inspires others, too.
— November 9, 2017 by A. (unknown)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Magically!
Thank you for the wonderful version of this song.
We know this song as a Ukrainian folk song "Shchedryk"
— September 7, 2017 by Elena (Ukraine)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Awesome
Thank you for producing such a great copy. May god Bless you. You are very talented!!
— August 23, 2017 by Roger (Jacksonville)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
So pleased I discovered David Hicken!
I came across David Hicken's music whilst I was searching for Carol of the Bells. As soon as I heard his version, I knew I had to get a copy. I downloaded a sample off Kindle and was hooked and immediately bought the full copy. I'm so pleased I discovered David's music as it has reignited my love of playing the piano again.Will definitely be buying more pieces. The only downside is that I am enjoying practising this piece so much I am even considering purchasing a new grand piano which could prove expensive haha! Many thanks David for your music!
— December 21, 2016 by Debbie (Lincolnshire, UK.)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Merry Xmas
This piece is so much fun to practice and to play, it's a must ! You sure make this song sound extraordinary :) And the tune Ellette after is so beautiful ! Thank you for all your enchanting music
— December 11, 2016 by Isabelle (Bois du Roy Dijon)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Love This Version!!
We love to hear my daughter practicing this piece, it's such a beautiful and dramatic version of a classic song. She played it in a public location and got many compliments. It also comes with some useful instructions on how to best play it. We will be buying more music from Mr. Hicken.
— December 8, 2016 by Linda (Maryland)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Totally Awesome!
Love this song. Already like Carol of the Bells, Mr.Hicken made it sound even better!
— December 8, 2016 by I.S (The New World, USA)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Fantasmagorical!
I stumbled upon his video by accident and immediately fell in love! Seconds into the song, I was searching the description box for the sheet music link. It is difficult for me to find advanced piano music, particularly Christmas, that challenges me while still maintaining musical cadence and being easy to listen to. I love this song especially how it incorporates other Christmas tunes! I only have two weeks before my Christmas piano recital, but I love this arrangement so much, I might be able to learn it in time ;)

Thank you Mr. Hicken for providing cool songs like this for us to play! I can't recommend this song enough!

P.S. When it asked me how many stars I wanted to "rate this item," I kept looking for the 20 stars button, but they only went up to 5.
— December 3, 2016 by Grace (MT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Wow
I'm 12 years old and a very advanced pianist and I love to play this piece because it is so amazingly written and so dramatic. My parents love to hear me play this piece and I thoroughly enjoy it to.
— November 28, 2016 by Adam (toronto)
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Amazing
I listened to the song and knew I had to learn how to play it, so I can on here, found it very easily and bought it. It's a great price for amazing music, Thank you so much Mr. Hicken!
— November 13, 2016 by Rebekah Taylor (Athena, Oregon)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
fantastic
Fabulous transcription! Also suitable for the player in the party who needs cool music!
— November 2, 2016 by John Liu (Taiwan)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
So much fun!
This piece is written beautifully. Just at my intermediate skill level and a ton of fun. Only 4 pages in and I'm having a blast. Well worth the purchase and defiantly well worth the time to learn it! Thank you!
— October 26, 2016 by Saul (Lansing, MI)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Great music
My 13 year old son (intermediate/advanced player) is crazy for this piece. I love it, too. Very engaging and exciting. I actually like it better played a little more slowly and the notes from David Ok-ing a slower tempo were a relief to my son.
— October 24, 2016 by Henry's mom (Minneapolis)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Brilliant
I love the arrangment I am currently playing it is nice and hard for me it has been really hard for me to find music for my skill level. THNX. Very pretty
— October 23, 2016 by Ethan Walker (MIddleton ID)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Beautiful and innovative arrangement
I have always loved this carol. It's been one of my favorites. It's really nice to hear some fresh ideas and new interpretations.
— October 7, 2016 by Jim (Athens, GA)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
This is absolutely amazing.
I've only had for a week and I'm loving this music.
— August 28, 2016 by Zach Penwell (Pell City, Alabama)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Amazing
I adore this amazing composition! Vivid and festive piece inspired by Leontovych Shchedryk.
— August 26, 2016 by Natali (Kyiv, Ukraine)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Brilliant
Just love this piece of music especially the inclution of 'God rest ye merry Gentlemen'. May God bless you David!
— July 30, 2016 by Angela (Syracuse, Ny)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Brilliant
Has been really enjoyable to work on this piece; brilliant harmonic development.

Also really liked the hemiola that results from the clash of "God rest ye merry gentlemen" with the continued bass pattern of "Carol of the Bells."

Modulation to B minor repeats the first "Carol of the Bells" section.

I liked the inclusion of "We wish you a merry Christmas" and "God rest ye merry gentlemen" as well, and how it has a solo-ish feel as everything else quiets around the themes.

Piece ends in A minor.

Quite a playable piece with a bit of work; driving rhythms. Thoroughly captures the atmosphere of Christmas; WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND!
— December 5, 2015 by Benjamin Wu (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?YesNo
Product Qty Price
To add an item to your shopping cart, click "Add to Cart".
Products in cart: 0
Cart subtotal: $0.00 Empty the cart
Click here to Check Out
Pay securely with any credit card or your PayPal account
Cart technology provided by NeuCart